PDA

View Full Version : DJI ESC's



rwilabee
02-04-2012, 10:21 PM
I'm thinking about putting together a hex using the XAircraft frame. How do you like the DJI Naza ESC's. I can't decide between them or maybe some Hobby Wing Fun Fly 30 amp. The DJI looks like they have the motor connectors built right on to the circuit board. By the way I'm going to be using one of my WKM's with them.

Rich

Skyman
02-05-2012, 01:07 AM
I just got my NAZA, and it seems DJI 30A ESC works well, 'cause I am new to use NAZA, so I chose their complete F450 Kits. Yes, their F450 Frame is different, the ESC can be soldered on the Frame circuit board.

rwilabee
02-05-2012, 01:14 AM
Did they give you any programming instructions for the ESC or does anyone know if the DJI ESC's are programmable.

Skyman
02-05-2012, 02:38 AM
Use their kits, not necessary to adjust ESC, but if i use Hobbywing, I need program the ESCs.

rsun
02-05-2012, 02:46 AM
Go for the DJI ESC's.

I it plug and play to the Naza so I believe it is the same for the wookong.

Skyman
02-05-2012, 03:30 AM
Yes, I agree with you! DJI ESC don't need be to programmed ,and in addtion it's OPTO.

RTRyder
02-05-2012, 09:16 AM
DJI ESC is a Hobbywing, just one that's built to their specs with the programming settings already done. There's nothing magical or special about them other than they cost 2X as much as a Hobbywing and there's no BEC so you get even less for twice as much.

Ken

Bartman
02-05-2012, 09:50 AM
is turnigy plush (when they're not backordered) still a good all around ESC for multi-rotors? I may do a new small quad to get more comfortable flying strictly FPV soon. prolly use the OP CC board.
thanks,
bart

rwilabee
02-05-2012, 11:09 AM
Hey Ken...

Maybe I would be better off with the Hobbywing as I was planning to use some Avroto motors and maybe the timing is set for their DJI motors unless it would be the same. I also don't like flying with any kind of cut off and lots of times I will set my ESC to Nicad so that there is no cut off for sure, as I don't want the bird going down hard if I should fly a little too long. Do you think with a HobbyWing Programming card you could reprogram them? I kind of like the motor pins on the DJIs being so short would make for a clean install.

Rich


DJI ESC is a Hobbywing, just one that's built to their specs with the programming settings already done. There's nothing magical or special about them other than they cost 2X as much as a Hobbywing and there's no BEC so you get even less for twice as much.

Ken

BorisS
02-05-2012, 12:47 PM
Rich can you post a picture of the DJI ESCs. I guess the connectors on the DJI ESCs are nothing more than soldered on gold connectors, which are not a good approach ! Gold connectors directly soldered onto pad on any boards are just prone to get loose and come of being stressed by vibrations. The best solution is to solder on the cables directly once you know the spin direction of your motors is correct, if the ESCs don't offer forward or reverse mode for the motors !

Of coarse you can reprogram hobbywing ESCs. I dont think that DJI ESCs are in anyways different concerning their firmware than the Hobbywing ESCs ! So the same setting are available.

Boris

rwilabee
02-05-2012, 01:00 PM
Thanks Boris...

I think I'll just use the Hobbywing ESC's. I sure don't need to have a connector come loose. I was looking in to the Maytech but couldn't find them in stock anywhere here in the States.

Thanks Rich


Rich can you post a picture of the DJI ESCs. I guess the connectors on the DJI ESCs are nothing more than soldered on gold connectors, which are not a good approach ! Gold connectors directly soldered onto pad on any boards are just prone to get loose and come of being stressed by vibrations. The best solution is to solder on the cables directly once you know the spin direction of your motors is correct, if the ESCs don't offer forward or reverse mode for the motors !

Of coarse you can reprogram hobbywing ESCs. I dont think that DJI ESCs are in anyways different concerning their firmware than the Hobbywing ESCs ! So the same setting are available.

Boris

BorisS
02-05-2012, 01:04 PM
If you take the maytechs i would rather take the V1 than the V2. I just ruined 6 of m axis motors with the V2 version. Not suer yet what went on ! But not to take any risk take the v1 version !

Boris

RTRyder
02-05-2012, 01:09 PM
Hey Ken...

Maybe I would be better off with the Hobbywing as I was planning to use some Avroto motors and maybe the timing is set for their DJI motors unless it would be the same. I also don't like flying with any kind of cut off and lots of times I will set my ESC to Nicad so that there is no cut off for sure, as I don't want the bird going down hard if I should fly a little too long. Do you think with a HobbyWing Programming card you could reprogram them? I kind of like the motor pins on the DJIs being so short would make for a clean install.

Rich

Now that's an interesting question that I'll have to explore later. The Hobbywing programming card is the same one for Turnigy and it worked fine for the DYS ESCs I have as well, so later I'll try hooking it up to one of the DJI Escs on my F450 and see if it does anything. Quite possible the programming function has been disabled to keep people from changing the "optimum" settings they've put in there which in reality is nothing more than specifying no govenor, fast startup, no cutoff, and a couple other things. If I wasn't about to head out the door for a birthday party at the inlaw's I'd do it now but SWMBO would have a fit if I started poking around with a multi right now... ;)

Ken

rwilabee
02-05-2012, 01:09 PM
Thanks Boris I think I'll just use the HobbyWing I'm assuming they are the proper HZ rating for the WKM.

Rich

BorisS
02-05-2012, 01:12 PM
Now that's an interesting question that I'll have to explore later. The Hobbywing programming card is the same one for Turnigy and it worked fine for the DYS ESCs I have as well, so later I'll try hooking it up to one of the DJI Escs on my F450 and see if it does anything. Quite possible the programming function has been disabled to keep people from changing the "optimum" settings they've put in there which in reality is nothing more than specifying no govenor, fast startup, no cutoff, and a couple other things. If I wasn't about to head out the door for a birthday party at the inlaw's I'd do it now but SWMBO would have a fit if I started poking around with a multi right now... ;)

Ken

Ken take it with you to the party :) and fiddle around with it at the party :)

Boris

RTRyder
02-05-2012, 01:16 PM
Ken take it with you to the party :) and fiddle around with it at the party :)

Boris

I wouldn't even make it out the door with one in hand...

Ken

rwilabee
02-05-2012, 01:20 PM
I Would be curious if you could use it to program the DJI esc. Let us know.

Thanks Rich


I wouldn't even make it out the door with one in hand...

Ken

RTRyder
02-06-2012, 02:48 PM
I Would be curious if you could use it to program the DJI esc. Let us know.

Thanks Rich

The answer is no, the programming card does nothing when hooked to the DJI ESC. That doesn't really surprise me since it's intended for a single application, multirotors, there's no need for a lot of programming options so they're probably fixed in the firmware and the programming option disabled.

Ken

rwilabee
02-06-2012, 02:51 PM
Thanks Ken...

I think I'll just go with some HobbyWing for my Hex. I was thinking about the Maytec but they don't see to be available anywhere.

Rich


The answer is no, the programming card does nothing when hooked to the DJI ESC. That doesn't really surprise me since it's intended for a single application, multirotors, there's no need for a lot of programming options so they're probably fixed in the firmware and the programming option disabled.

Ken

Jackella
02-06-2012, 03:11 PM
I'm using the Hobbywing funfly 30's on my quad,Naza controller and work great.

rwilabee
02-06-2012, 03:26 PM
That is what I'm also using on my DJI 450 with the Naza and I have been happy with them. They should work ok with my Hex and my WKM.

Rich

rwilabee
02-06-2012, 03:29 PM
Hey Ken...

Do most of the guys prefer the 3.5mm or 4 mm motor connectors.

Thanks
Rich


I wouldn't even make it out the door with one in hand...

Ken

RTRyder
02-06-2012, 03:42 PM
Hey Ken...

Do most of the guys prefer the 3.5mm or 4 mm motor connectors.

Thanks
Rich

For the bigger multis I use 3.5, on some of my little stuff I use 2mm to keep the weight down. I think 4mm vs 3.5 comes down to personal choice, there isn't that much difference between them but depending on how you run the wires it may come down to a matter of available space, like running the wires inside a boom. The best way to do it just solder the wires together and then you don't have to worry about problems with the connectors but it does make servicing a bit more difficult.

Ken

rwilabee
02-06-2012, 06:23 PM
I think I'll just solder them. I like that idea. I'll get the motors going in the correct direction and then solder them.

Rich


For the bigger multis I use 3.5, on some of my little stuff I use 2mm to keep the weight down. I think 4mm vs 3.5 comes down to personal choice, there isn't that much difference between them but depending on how you run the wires it may come down to a matter of available space, like running the wires inside a boom. The best way to do it just solder the wires together and then you don't have to worry about problems with the connectors but it does make servicing a bit more difficult.

Ken

60641k
02-17-2012, 03:54 AM
I want to buy ESC hobbywing pentium 18A for NAZA.
Should I buy program card for it? Or basic settings are enough for naza?
If no - what settings should I change?
sry for stupid questions=) I would appreciate any advice.

Dewster
04-18-2012, 12:21 PM
I know this is late. I have DJI 30a ESCs. I like that I don't have to program them. They work fine for my Avroto 2814/11s and the weight that I'm carrying. Plus they have the 3.5mm connectors on them.

PaNt
04-19-2012, 05:31 PM
Guys you that you are working with the HW FUnFLy 30 how are they???

Have you ever had a cutoff or something?

DJIFlyer
07-09-2012, 06:08 PM
DJI ESC is a Hobbywing, just one that's built to their specs with the programming settings already done. There's nothing magical or special about them other than they cost 2X as much as a Hobbywing and there's no BEC so you get even less for twice as much.

Ken

I have a DJI Naza and F450 frame that came as a kit with the motors, ESC's, etc. I just replaced one of my Opto 30 Amp ESC's with the same ones that come with the Naza F450 kit but now I can't get this thing to fly smoothly. It used to be that when I powered up the multi all of the motors would make there "power up" chime pretty much in unison. Now when I power up it seems that three of the motors do it in unison and the one with the new ESC is lagging a second behind which makes me wonder if it is not synced up in the same way as the others. Is there a way to set the throttle points for these ESC's as people do with other ESC's and if so can anyone advise me on how to do this? My Naza used to fly so sweet but now its jerks around even though I have tried everything with different gain setting.