Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Xaircraft x650v4 - Wookong M Configuration

  1. #1
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Xaircraft x650v4 - Wookong M Configuration

    Hi All

    I am fairly new to the RC world so there are things I am just finding myself stuck on from time to time. This one has to to with the Wookong M auto pilot system. I bought for my Xaircraft 650v4 however when I go to hook the DJI system, using the Xaircraft ESC's, I am not getting any control of the motors, they just keep running at a constant RPM. I have clipped the red power wire and In the Wookong Management Assistant I can see all my control inputs acting properly, including the throttle.

    I read about, i guess calibrating you ESC's and for kicks I hooked a esc, motor, and battery straight to my receiver's(JR921x24) throttle input, I end up getting the same response as if the motors were hooked to the Wookong M flight system (constant RPM). My question what am I missing??? Are Xaircraft ESC's compatible to the DJI system? If so, I am open to suggestions.

    Thanks Jack

  2. #2
    The Village Idiot IrisAerial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Alameda,CA
    Posts
    3,368
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you plug your esc and motor direct to the receiver and that didnt work you have problems. Do you have a normal esc to try as a test? As far as I know the only difference in the Xaircraft esc's is they are higher frequency PWM. So who knows, maybe they do need the Xaircraft FC to operate. I did notice in the setup for my normal esc's that it has an option of using normal or ultraPWM escs.

  3. #3
    Merlin of Multirotors RTRyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    2,150
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jhardway View Post
    Are Xaircraft ESC's compatible to the DJI system? If so, I am open to suggestions.

    Thanks Jack
    The short answer is no the Xaircraft ESCs aren't compatible. The Turnigy Plush series seem to work very well with the WKM controller, also DYS, and HK Blue series are all variations of the same ESC and will work.

    Ken
    A bad day flying FPV is better than a good day at work, crashes included...

  4. #4
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well thanks for clearing that up, I do not like to jump to conclusions but after getting some other responses, from here and other mails I through out there. It looks like I am going shopping for new ESC's, since I am doing that any suggestion on motors that would help me beef up my systems lift capabilities, I would like to use the frame but I am right at the cuff for the weight the motors can handle, I would like to get a little more in the safe category. Many thanks again.

  5. #5
    Full Blown Hucker Droider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lancashire Great Britain
    Posts
    4,704
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Geoff @ quadcopters.co.uk set up his Xaircraft with the wookong.. drop him a pm or email via his site for his set up

    Dave

  6. #6
    Hot diggity! Bartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    5,951
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the xaircraft esc's use a different pulse-length range than regular esc's.

    "Pulse width between 200us and 1200us can be used for power tuning. "

    If you can set your range for the esc's in the firmware then you should be able to use them. this was also a problem with the OpenPilot CopterControl board but it was overcome by using the 200-1200 range.

    here's the page of the XAircraft Wiki
    http://www.xaircraft.com/wiki/UltraPWM%28en%29

  7. #7
    Merlin of Multirotors RTRyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    2,150
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bartman View Post
    the xaircraft esc's use a different pulse-length range than regular esc's.

    "Pulse width between 200us and 1200us can be used for power tuning. "

    If you can set your range for the esc's in the firmware then you should be able to use them.
    There's no way to do that in the WKM software, it's built for standard PWM ESCs with no ability to change it to anything else.

    Ken
    A bad day flying FPV is better than a good day at work, crashes included...

  8. #8
    Full Blown Hucker Emowillcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    493
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with Droider.. check out Jeff’s set up... he has a super clean looking xair rig with a DJI board on it.. and it looks nice. Jeff mentioned he has some new test motors in that he is going to be branding so
    maybe he is ready to let some go now. I think you can find it on the link below.

    http://www.multirotorforums.com/show...WKM-components

    http://www.multirotorforums.com/show...WKM-components
    EMO
    "That wasn't a crash..... just a hard landing !"
    http://www.emomedia.net/

  9. #9
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used cheap Hi-Model 30 Amp ESC's on one of my heavy lift quads with 3538 motors swinging 14x4.7 props. No problems with stabilisation straight out of the box. I did try inflight adjustments but ended up with stock settings. The only thing that I do see is a slight drop off in performance as the voltage starts to drop. Advanced warning!!!

  10. #10
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DennyR View Post
    I used cheap Hi-Model 30 Amp ESC's on one of my heavy lift quads with 3538 motors swinging 14x4.7 props. No problems with stabilisation straight out of the box. I did try inflight adjustments but ended up with stock settings. The only thing that I do see is a slight drop off in performance as the voltage starts to drop. Advanced warning!!!

    Does any one know what amp the ESC has to be to work with xaircraft motor i just want upgrade mine to dji naza
    thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •