Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: using 2 x 2 axis brushless boards to control Pan Axis.. on 3 axis gimbal

  1. #1
    Defies Gravity
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    SQUAMISH BC
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    using 2 x 2 axis brushless boards to control Pan Axis.. on 3 axis gimbal

    Using 2 x 2 axis brushless boards to control a 3 axis gimbal

    Sorry if I missed this. Have searched and found videos but no descriptions.. But does anyone have a schematic / photos on how to use 2x alexmos / martinez gimbal boards on a 3 axis system. I am confused on where/how to place the second IMU for the board controlling PAN..

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    pattersonimages
    X8 Heavy Lifter, YS-X6 Octo
    Custom JS Heavy Lift Folding Quad / Naza - Custom Y6 Folding / Sunnysky / Naza -

  2. #2
    Pilot Extraordinaire
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm in the same situation. Cant seem to find any solid info on the imu placement and x,y,z input settings either. Let us know if you get it sorted and I will do likewise.

  3. #3
    Defies Gravity multirotorxy8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe you use one IMU per board, mount them side by side under the camera platform. Tilt/Roll on one board, pan on the other.



    Quote Originally Posted by pattersonimages View Post
    Using 2 x 2 axis brushless boards to control a 3 axis gimbal

    Sorry if I missed this. Have searched and found videos but no descriptions.. But does anyone have a schematic / photos on how to use 2x alexmos / martinez gimbal boards on a 3 axis system. I am confused on where/how to place the second IMU for the board controlling PAN..

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Defies Gravity
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    SQUAMISH BC
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, thats where I am lost. why would the IMU for PAN be under the camera tray? wouldn't the imu need to be installed on the frame deflecting from the top handle/multirotor? the imu for pitch is under the camera - because its keeping the camera horizon/pitch properly situated. But the pan, its on a completely different axis than the camera tray.

    i'd love to see a video/diagram. It seems to me the PAN IMU should be placed at a 90 deg angle/side of the gimbal tup tube to give offset to the board on pan movements?

    Quote Originally Posted by multirotorxy8 View Post
    I believe you use one IMU per board, mount them side by side under the camera platform. Tilt/Roll on one board, pan on the other.
    pattersonimages
    X8 Heavy Lifter, YS-X6 Octo
    Custom JS Heavy Lift Folding Quad / Naza - Custom Y6 Folding / Sunnysky / Naza -

  5. #5
    Defies Gravity multirotorxy8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The IMU has multiple gyroscopes, so all you have multiple axis covered without having to physically rotate the device. You want it placed under the camera near the lens because your pan is going to effect the rotation of the lens. If it is adjusting to somewhere else on the gimbal, then the results you see on camera will be less than optimal.






    Quote Originally Posted by pattersonimages View Post
    ok, thats where I am lost. why would the IMU for PAN be under the camera tray? wouldn't the imu need to be installed on the frame deflecting from the top handle/multirotor? the imu for pitch is under the camera - because its keeping the camera horizon/pitch properly situated. But the pan, its on a completely different axis than the camera tray.

    i'd love to see a video/diagram. It seems to me the PAN IMU should be placed at a 90 deg angle/side of the gimbal tup tube to give offset to the board on pan movements?

  6. #6
    Defies Gravity multirotorxy8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or get this, under 50 bucks, all problems solved!

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-axis-Brush.../251301912113?

  7. #7
    http://offthegridwater.ca
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    picture046.jpgpicture044.jpg

    one sensor for Alexmos 2 for Martinez second sensor is mounted at 90 degrees to the cam tray sensor Martinez.

    http://offthegridwater.ca

  8. #8
    Pilot Extraordinaire
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could you post a better picture or explain a bit more. I do not see a second sensor mounted at 90degrees to the first sensor in either picture.

  9. #9
    http://offthegridwater.ca
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  10. #10
    Pilot Extraordinaire
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I must be really stupid or you are a terrible photographer! (joking) but I still cant see a second IMU sensor, only the control board!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •