Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: NAZA GPS mount & Assistant Software input question.

  1. #1
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    NAZA GPS mount & Assistant Software input question.

    I received my GPS unit and it is installed. Assistant software is updated to v1.6 and all seems to be well. I have confirmed calibration of the TX including the GPS / Atti / Manual modes.

    a. When installing the GPS unit, I have chosen to use the mounting bracket and the rod, effectively placing the GPS unit ~5cm above the level of the MC (as measured from the center of the MC to the center of the GPS unit).

    b. The base is mounted in the center of the F450, with the rod extending above the frame.

    c. The GPS unit s mounted to the top of the rod, utlizing the included round mounting plate.

    --> This is where I have a question:
    1. In the "Mounting" tab, for the "Z" axis, I have entered 5(cm)
    2. I have left the "X" and "Y" both at "0"
    3. The "Tail" of the GPS is pointing to the BACK of the F450

    Any information regarding my installation would be greatly appreciated.

    Dale.
    1. DJI F450 Naza 2. Droidworx CX-4 3. TBS Discovery

  2. #2
    Full Blown Hucker Bison52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lubbock, TX
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wouldn't the z axis measurement be closer to 10 cm? I have a 550 but using the rod supplied with the GPS unit, with the base mounted in the same plane as the top plate and the FC mounted on the bottom plate, the height of the center of the GPS to the center of the FC is just about 10 cm. The COG along the Z axis is just about the center of the FC in my setup too.

  3. #3
    Defies Physics!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Foristell, Mo
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if by tail you mean the little arrow where the wire comes in needs to face to the front or it will crash!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  4. #4
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bison 52 -
    You are correct.
    The openng (gap) between the two plates (top and bottom) is 4cm + the rod heigth to the center of the GPS disc = 11.5 cm
    1. DJI F450 Naza 2. Droidworx CX-4 3. TBS Discovery

  5. #5
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by suddenincline View Post
    if by tail you mean the little arrow where the wire comes in needs to face to the front or it will crash!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    Thanks suddenincline. It seem counter intuative that the cable (tail) would face the front.

    I failed to pick up on that little detail on page 8 where is shows the perspective picture for the NAZA unit (Aircraft Nose -->) and the text box under the picture of the GPS disc.
    1. DJI F450 Naza 2. Droidworx CX-4 3. TBS Discovery

  6. #6
    Defies Physics!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Foristell, Mo
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    seems to me they would have you know mentioned that in the manual more than ohhhh once lol

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  7. #7
    Full Blown Hucker
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by suddenincline View Post
    seems to me they would have you know mentioned that in the manual more than ohhhh once lol

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    Yup. Maybe even printing the word "FRONT" on the GSP disc? ...it's the simple things that are usually missed...
    1. DJI F450 Naza 2. Droidworx CX-4 3. TBS Discovery

  8. #8
    Defies Physics!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Foristell, Mo
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol that would be to easy, however i'm not gonna complain to much it works like a charm!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Defies Physics!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Foristell, Mo
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i want to shut off my controller in flight to see the fail safe fly home and land work but can't get myself to do it

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  10. #10
    Full Blown Hucker Bison52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lubbock, TX
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Suddeninline, it was the hardest thing in the world to shut the transmitter off and trust to the multirotor gods but I finally worked up the courage just today. It sure was sweet to to see the bird climb to altitude, head back to me from 150 yards out, descend and land almost at my feet.

    Looking back I might have set up the 3way switch for the flight mode channel so that the third position triggered failsafe instead of manual. That way I could fly it out in atti or GPS and trigger failsafe with the switch without turning off the tx. If failsafe didn't work, could have tried to regain control by switching back to atti or GPS. Quicker than waiting for tx to power back up and reconnect.

    Thankfully for me it worked correctly.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •